16.01.2020 > 30.04.2021
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst

Métisse

she always says
mom, I feel only half
and I tell her
you're not half
you're double
you're more than me

Métisse tells the story of a white grandmother (Christa), her double-blooded daughter (Christine), her white boyfriend (Werner) and her black granddaughter (Etouri). The four characters oscillate between family and history, between fiction and reality. They each deal with a permanent social problem in their own way: imaging about different skin colours, cultures and their intermingling. What part of their identity are they trying to get rid off? Which stereotypes do they set in motion, and which do they maintain?

Métisse is a tragicomic, musical performance on the existential question of 'double-blooded children' since the 1960s, when, as illegitimate citizens, they encountered massive misunderstandings - both in white Europe and in Black Africa. The source of inspiration for the performance is the story of Ann Van Vaerenberg, daughter of a black priest and a Belgian woman, and now herself a mother. Director Tom Dupont mixes the perspectives of three generations of women, each with a darker skin, and in doing so exposes a piece of the hidden past and present.

Credits

WRITER & DIRECTOR Tom Dupont ACTORS Kapinga Gysel, Patricia Kargbo, Lucas Van der Vegt, Katelijne Verbeke MUSIC COACH Sam Gysel SCENOGRAPHER Geert Vandewalle COSTUMER Marij Debrabandere VIDEO MAKER Peter Monsaert LIGHT DESIGNER Maarten Thorrez SOUND DESIGNER Niels Vanherpe ARTISTIC SUPPORT Chokri Ben Chikha, Zouzou Ben Chikha, Jos Verbist DRAMATURGY INTERN Alice De Waele PRODUCTION Theater Antigone & Action Zoo Humain COPRODUCTION Perpodium PARTNER NTGent WITH SPECIAL THANKS TO Ann Van Vaerenberg WITH SUPPORT OF the Belgian Taxshelter & Cronos Invest, the Flemish Literature Fund

07.02.2020 > 21.02.2020
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst
'Métisse' -  © Kurt van der Elst

Métisse

elle dit toujours
maman, j'ai l'impression d'être qu'à moitié
et je lui dis
tu n'es pas à moitié
tu es double
tu es plus que moi

 

Métisse raconte l'histoire d'une grand-mère blanche (Christa), de sa fille de sang double (Christine), du petit ami blanc de Christine (Werner) et de sa petite-fille noire (Etouri). Les quatre personnages oscillent entre famille et histoire, entre fiction et réalité. Chacun d'eux traite à sa manière un problème social permanent : les images (distordues) des différentes couleurs de peau, les cultures et leur mélange. Quelle partie de leurs identités et de leurs héritages essaient-ils de se défaire ? Quels stéréotypes remettent-ils en questoin et lesquels maintiennent-ils ?

Métisse est une performance tragicomique et musicale sur la question existentielle des "enfants à double sang" depuis les années 1960, lorsque, en tant que citoyens illégitimes, ils ont été confrontés à des malentendus massifs - tant en Europe blanche qu'en Afrique noire. La source d'inspiration du spectacle est l'histoire d'Ann Van Vaerenberg, fille d'un prêtre noir et d'une femme belge, et maintenant elle-même mère. Le réalisateur Tom Dupont combine les perspectives de trois générations de femmes, chacune ayant une peau plus foncée, et expose ainsi un morceau du passé et du présent cachés.

Credits

MISE EN SCENE & TEXTE Tom Dupont JEU Kapinga Gysel, Patricia Kargbo, Lucas Van der Vegt, Katelijne Verbeke COACHING MUSICALE Sam Gysel SCENOGRAPHIE Geert Vandewalle VIDEO Peter Monsaert CONCEPTION LUMIERE Maarten Thorrez CONCEPTION SONORE Niels Vanherpe SOUTIEN ARTISTIQUE Chokri Ben Chikha, Zouzou Ben Chikha, Jos Verbist STAGE DRAMATURGIE Alice De Waele PRODUCTION Theater Antigone, Action Zoo Humain COPRODUCTION Perpodium PARTENAIRE NTGent GRACE A Ann Van Vaerenberg AVEC LE SOUTIEN DU Tax Shelter du Gouvernement Fédéral de Belgique et Cronos Invest, Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren