Mission

Theatre company & performance group

Action Zoo Humain is the performance group of theatre-maker/performer/researcher Chokri Ben Chikha and business manager Hanne Boelaert. Along with this artistic and commercial core, the permanent artistic team consists of theatre-maker/actress Marijke Pinoy, theatre-maker/musician/actor Zouzou Ben Chikha and theatre-maker/actress Dahlia Pessemiers-Benamar.

Action Zoo Humain examines ito what extent theatre can directly affect reality without losing sight of its poetic potential and sense of self-criticism. The company uses the historical concept of the 'zoo humain’ or human zoo as an instrument of (re)search to raise questions about ethnic, religious, nationalistic and economic conflict zones.

Action Zoo Humain strives to expose power structures, to reveal inter-cultural issues and to activate the public. In this respect, the company seeks to use contemporary formats to represent the current (complex) cross-cultural social reality.

Action Zoo Humain consciously chooses not to become part of a larger entity in order to continue to act as a bridge between artists and academics, the artistic and social-artistic sector, and young talents and experts, as well as between individual artists and cultural institutions.

Action Zoo Humain examines to what extent theatre can directly affect reality without losing sight of its poetic potential and sense of self-criticism.

Since 2017 the company is structurally funded by the Flemish government. Starting from season 2018-2019 Action Zoo Humain is artist in residence at NTGent, the city theatre of Ghent and one of the biggest theatres in Belgium, currently under the artistic guidance of Milo Rau. In 2018, the company is invited to several theatre festivals in Belgium and the Netherlands.

Mission

Compagnie de théâtre & groupe de performances

Action Zoo Humain est la compagnie de théâtre et de performances autour de Chokri Ben Chikha (créateur de théâtre, performeur, chercheur) et Hanne Boelaert (sciences commerciales). Outre ce noyau artistique et administratif, Zouzou Ben Chikha (comédien, créateur de théâtre), Dahlia Pessemiers-Benamar (créatrice de théâtre, actrice) et Marijke Pinoy (créatrice de théâtre, actrice) font partie intégrante de l’équipe artistique.

Action Zoo Humain examine dans quelle mesure le théâtre peut avoir un impact sur la réalité sans perdre de vue son potentiel poétique et autocritique. La compagnie se sert du concept historique de « zoo humain » comme outil de recherche et instrument d’analyse pour interroger et explorer des zones de conflits ethniques, religieux, nationalistes et économiques.

Action Zoo Humain aspire à révéler les structures du pouvoir, à rendre discutables des questions interculturelles et à stimuler le public à être plus actif. En outre, la compagnie cherche des formules contemporaines pour représenter la réalité sociétale interculturelle dans toute sa complexité.

Action Zoo Humain choisit sciemment de ne pas fusionner avec un plus grand ensemble, afin de pouvoir faire office de médiateur entre artistes et académiciens, secteur artistique et socio-artistique, talents émergents et valeurs établies, artistes individuels et maisons de culture.

Action Zoo Humain part de la super-diversité urbaine locale pour encourager et développer des partenariats internationaux, aussi bien avec des artistes autonomes qu’avec des organisations.

Action Zoo Humain aspire à révéler les structures du pouvoir, à rendre discutables des questions interculturelles et à stimuler le public à être plus actif.

Depuis 2017 la compagnie est structurellement subventionnée par le gouvernement flamand. A partir de la saison 2018-2019 Action Zoo Humain est en résidence chez NTGent, le théâtre de la ville de Gand et un des plus grands théâtres de la Belgique, actuellement sous la direction artistique de Milo Rau. En 2018, la compagnie est invitée aux différents festivals de théâtres en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas.